Nominations for the Bridgwater and West Somerset Constituency closed today (14th November).

The candidates are:-

Ian Liddell Grainger – The Conservative Party Candidate
Farès K Moussa – The Liberal Party
Bill Revans – Liberal Democrat
Mickie Ritchie – Green Party
Oliver Andrew Robert Thornton – Labour Party Candidate

Part of the Sedgemoor District Council area (the parishes of Axbridge, Axe Vale, Berrow, Brent North, Burnham North, Burnham South, Cheddar and Shipham, Highbridge, Knoll, Wedmore and Mark) fall within the Wells constituency. Candidates for the Wells constituency and the arrangements for the count for the Wells constituency are organised by Mendip District Council – see for details.

Residents should soon be receiving their polling card for the forthcoming general election and are advised to check their poll card to make sure that they know which polling station they need to go to on Thursday December 12. If you don’t receive a poll card, you may not be registered to vote. You need to register to vote by 26 November to make sure that you have your say at the ballot box for the general election. The easiest way to register is by visiting

The last date to register to vote is by midnight on 26 November. The last day to apply for a postal vote is 5pm on 26th November. Sedgemoor will be despatching their postal votes from Monday 25th November.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here